Facebook adds Snooze button to silence irritating friends, pages and groups

Facebook adds Snooze button to silence irritating friends, pages and groups

If you're exhausted of seeing selfies, motivational quotes, photos of food, holiday snaps or anything other posts you find annoying, rather than unfriend someone, you can now mute them for a month without them knowing.

Snooze can be accessed by tapping on the top-right drop-down menu of a post. When the mute period is about to end, you will be notified. Facebook already has options like Unfollow or Hide to get around seeing unwanted posts, but the new feature is a convenient choice for individuals who just want to temporarily avoid their friend.

Crucially, the people you snooze never know about it. If you do not see this now, wait for few more days.

"As News Feed evolves, we'll continue to provide easy-to-use tools to give you the most personalized experience possible every time you visit Facebook", the post said. It turns out, you're not alone.

UK Retailers Get Black Friday Boost as Sales Jump 1.1%
Household electrical appliances led growth in sales, partly due to reduced prices during the Black Friday sales. But home furnishings company Carpetright cut forecasts after warning of fragile consumer confidence.

Facebook's Snooze feature is likely to help people better tailor their News Feed.

People want to have full controls on what they want to see on their News Feed, keeping that in mind Facebook decided the making and introduction of this Snooze tool which allows one to not see posts from a particular source for some short span of time. "We've heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it", Muraleedharan added. He is also fanatical about football which makes it all the more odd that he should support Stockport County.

Snooze just delays the annoyance one is experiencing from some page or friend or group, so if one feels like using the snooze option often then snooze might not be the only option, I mean one could always unfriend or leave the friend or group respectively or do not use Facebook at all.

Related Articles