QSL expands to 14 teams

DOHA: The Qatar Stars League (QSL) will expand from 12 teams to 14 teams for next season, it emerged on Tuesday.

In an announcement from Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed Al Thani,CEO of the QSL and President of the Qatar Football Association (QFA),the plans for expansion were revealed late on Monday night.

The decision to increase the numbers of teams means Al Sailiya – who finished bottom of the league – will avoid relegation, a news report posted on QSL website said.

Meanwhile, Muaither – who lost to Al Arabi in the play-offs – will join as the 14th team.

The Second Division and the Reserve League will also merge to create a stronger second tier.

Al Sadd, Lekhwiya, Al Rayyan, Al Gharafa are the top four sides in QSL.

Teams like Al Arabi, Al Ahil, Al Kharaitiyat, Umm Salal, Al Wakrah, Qatar SC, Al Khor and Al Sailiyah completed the 12-team tier last season.

Al Sadd won the QSL title last month to dethrone two-times champions Lekhwiya, winners in the 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons.

To Top